School Logo

Early Years Foundation Stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.


Areas of learning


Your child will mostly be taught through a play/activity based curriculum.


The areas of learning are:


  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development


  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design




Your child’s pre-school progress will be reviewed when they’re between 2 and 3 by an early years practitioner or health visitor. Whilst at school their class teacher will assess them at the end of the nursery school year and then at the end of reception year when they turn 5.


The assessment is based on classroom observation – your child won’t be tested. The assessment uses the early learning goals, which can be found in the early years framework.